Hamers vs New England Wood Pellets

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bungalobob

Feeling the Heat
Aug 5, 2008
central ct
Wow, now that I have some burning experience I can sympathize with all the others when they get inferior pellets by the ton and have to deal with them. Started my new Harman P68 with Hamers Hot Ones and experienced trouble free burning. Kept nice equal heat distributed trough my two story hose, 73 downstairs, 69 upstairs, little ash and very small clinkers. Couldn't ask for more. So, after about ten bags I figure I would try some of the two tons of New England Wood Pellets (Tan bag Red Lettering) that I have along side the dwindling ton of Hamers. Wow, what a difference. The NEWP's created more ash, not excessive, but more than the Hamers, large clinkers started forming in no time and began smothering the fire. My temperature dropped from 73 to 70 in a matter of hours, all on the same setting's I had for the Hamers. There is not alot you can adjust on the Harman. I have it set on room temp, feed rate just over 4, and the fan almost to medium. I am going to tinker with feedrate but I don't know what else to fool with. Plus I will be cleaning those clinkers out of the way alot more often then with the Hamers. Hope the whole two tons don't burn this way, or I hope there is some way to adjust to improve the performance of the NEWP's. Any suggestions? Oh yeah been cleaning it, hasn't really been that dirty yet.