1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Hampton air intake issues

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Frog, Jan 29, 2013.

  1. Frog

    Frog New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    Northern NJ
    Hi everyone,
    I'm having a bit of a problem with my HI200 insert. I can't seem to get a fire going, even with very seasoned old pallet pieces. I'm pretty certain that there isn't enough air getting in. I looked in my manual and it doesn't specify where the air intake is, does anyone know???

    Thanks,
    John

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,457
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
  3. Frog

    Frog New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    Northern NJ
    wow, thats really interesting thanks!
  4. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    46,598
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    The odds of the air intake being the issue are slim. The odds of the hot air exiting the stove being restricted are much greater. Check the liner and the cap for plugging.
  5. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,457
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
    I agree.
  6. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27,633
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
  7. Adios Pantalones

    Adios Pantalones Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6,400
    Loc:
    S.NH- Mass's smoking section
    I have an HI300, clean flue and cap. I always leave the door just barely ajar during startup.
  8. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,457
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
    Me too. Maybe crack open a window and get the draft going in the right direction if the stove is totally cold, which hasn't happened in...months. :)
  9. chazcarr

    chazcarr Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    314
    Loc:
    Wolcott, CT
    My stove is just like yours. I have a pretty secured up house now, and I never have any problem starting a fire. I used to crack a window to start the draft, but with supercedars, I don't even have to do that. When I use pallet wood, it starts up almost too fast. It must be a blocked up chimney. When was it cleaned last?

    Or, does the air control move really easily? With mine, there is some resistance. Especially with a cold stove. if it moves really easily perhaps the air intake plate broke off and that is the problem. Doubtful though
  10. Andy S.

    Andy S. Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    179
    Loc:
    Southeastern, PA
    I'm seriously considering an HI200. Has the cause been found? Thanks.

Share This Page