1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Hampton GCI60 Control Panel Problem

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Kicker13, Nov 19, 2012.

  1. Kicker13

    Kicker13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Agreed, it really isn't that bad to pull out and push back in.

    On another note I neglected to report back after I got the new cable installed. The unit functions as it should. All of the issues I was having were apparently due to that cable...a couple of the individual wires in the cable were actually completely severed!

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Cleetussnow

    Cleetussnow Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    155
    Loc:
    Westchester, ny
    I called my dealer 2 times since thursday, and no calls back. Even the owner blew me off when I had him on the phone - took a message for the service department, supposedly.

    So I may be pulling it out and checking into things myself. I know another shop which might be more reliable nearby anyway.
  3. Brokenwing

    Brokenwing Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    448
    Loc:
    Northern Maryland
    That sounds familar with my gc60, the dealer is not help at all. Hmm what is going on with these regency dealers.
  4. kneedles

    kneedles New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Loc:
    College Park, Md.
    As soon as I get home, will check the cable. Still have a frozen gearbox that will have to be replaced, as well as gaskets for the augur motor. The stove is designed badly, too many things to break or go wrong. Less is more.



    quote="MAZ624, post: 1279069, member: 24981"]When I talked to the dealer I bought the stove from, he said it would be 4 days before he could get someone out to look at it. Being an engineer and not wanting to use my propane boiler for the next 4 days, I took a look. What I found is that there is a ribbon cable that connects the switch panel to the controller inside the unit. The cable was not sufficiently secured to the frame inside the unit when it was built and the excess cable fell and was rubbing against the blower motor hub. The friction from the hub turning wore through the cable's insulation and damaged three wires. See the picture below. This is what made the control panel unresponsive. (I cut the cable above the damaged area in a failed attempt to repair it).

    I contacted the dealer I bought it from and he pulled the cable off his floor unit. After replacing it, the unit works fine.

    I hope this helps others.

    View attachment 83311

    All the best[/quote]
  5. kneedles

    kneedles New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Loc:
    College Park, Md.
    I encourage everyone who ishaving problems with Regency to file a complaint through the better business bureau. If they get enough negative, it will drive their rating down,can if he wants to stay in business, I would think he would take care of his customers.
  6. Skier76

    Skier76 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,448
    Loc:
    CT and SoVT
    They fixed the ribbon on newer stoves. I checked mine before it was installed and it was zip tied to the frame.

Share This Page