1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Harman Measuring Draft: 3/8-16 to 3/8NTP or 1/8 Tubing adapter.

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by lawlopez, Nov 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lawlopez

    lawlopez New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Loc:
    New Boston, NH
    I have a Harman P61 pellet stove.
    I have a Dwyer Magnahelic .5 inch vacuum/pressure gauge.
    It has 3/8 NTP fittings.
    It comes with 3//8 NTP to barbs for 1/8 ID tubing.

    The Harman has a bolt closing up a place to connect the 1/8 tubing.
    It's location is not found in the P61 manual but the P38 manual.

    This bolt seems to be threaded 3/8-16

    How do I connect a 1/8 ID to it ?

    I'm at a loss unless I just push the tubing into the hole without a fitting.
    I suppose I could do that and temporarily calk it in place.

    The basic problem is that 3/8-16 sould not be used for an air/vacuum port.
    Thanks,
    Larry

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. GVA

    GVA Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,140
    Loc:
    Waxhaw, NC... Formerly North shore Mass
    3/8-16 thread uses a 5/16" drill.
    you just need to put the 5/16" tube into the tapped hole and this is sufficient to check draft.
    most dwyers come with a silicon hose 1/8" id and 5/16" od just dont leave it in there too long.
  3. lawlopez

    lawlopez New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Loc:
    New Boston, NH
    Oh my.I hadn't even thought of using somehting that could take heat !!!
    Thanks a lot.
  4. lawlopez

    lawlopez New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Loc:
    New Boston, NH
    Any idea where I can get some ?
    My Dwyer didn't come with tubing.
  5. djarseneault

    djarseneault Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    234
    Loc:
    Eastern Connecticut
    You don't need to check the draft when it is hot. The draft readings in the manual are for a cold stove.
  6. lawlopez

    lawlopez New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Loc:
    New Boston, NH
    Yup.

    I wanted to see if there was much change when it was actually running.
    I foundsome tubing which worked pretty good.
    It was 5/16 OD but 1/4 ID so I removed the fittings from the gauage.
    And used it with no fittings at both ends.

    I welded the tube I used to the stove and couldn't get it out !!!

    I got it out by using a torch on the inside.
    Didn't take much. Just a touch. Came out clean.
    I was cracking up. What a dummy.

    I have a lot of draft.
    Always more than .5 inches.

    How do you adjust it ?
    There is nothing on the control board.
  7. HBW3

    HBW3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Loc:
    MARYLAND
    I have a p61-a that has a small opening for a straight screwdriver to adjust combustion blower speed.
    Mine would not get below .56 at low draft.
    If you have this adjustment it is to the right of the ignitor statis light.
    Set feed to test, turn on stove,pellets feed for 1 min then stops feeding.
    Combustion blower will alternate from low to high draft every 1 min or so.

    I have set my meter up also while running.
    I drilled out another bolt and attached copper tubing to it.
    I used about 18" of tubing and coiled it.
    Hooked up therubber tubing that is about 3' long.
    The gauge works fine during operation.
    I keep the gauge about 4' from stove on the floor off to one side.
  8. lawlopez

    lawlopez New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Loc:
    New Boston, NH
    My P61 has the hole in the sheet metal.
    It has a place on the circuit boad for adjustment.
    It doesn't have the adjustment device soldered to the printer circuit board.

    Your P61A is adjustable, my P61A is not adjustable.

    Did adjusting it down decrease the feed rate on low settings ?

    Good job on the copper tubing.

    Larry
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page