1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Harman P68 start up fire too big

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by jettech, Apr 4, 2013.

  1. newf lover

    newf lover Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    649
    Loc:
    Eastern CT
    If I burn Okies or LaCrete pellets and don't turn my feed rate down to 2 or even a little below, the inside of my stove gets black upon fire-up. Even if that makes no sense, I would try to lower the feed rate before I started messing with any dip switches.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. jettech

    jettech New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    martinsville, IN
    Just checked the dipswitch settings. Had to remove the circuit board from the panel and flip it over to see the switches. First I verified what RPM auger motor and type of ESP probe. According to the units s/n I have a 6 RPM auger and a digital ESP (red wires). Stove was new this last fall. The dip switches are set exactly how Mr. Spock posted. on off on off on on on on.

    Maybe I have a different problem. I installed the stove myself and don't have the equipment to test the draft. I assumed the draft was satisfactory since the stove will light and according to the manual if the unit doesn't have enough draft the low draft pressure switch will not allow the feed motor or the igniter to operate. I've tried adjusting the low draft voltage control on the control panel but it doesn't seem to have any effect on the fire. Even with the low draft voltage adjusted fully counter clockwise the stove will still light which led me to believe the draft was ok.

    I installed the stove using the direct vent wall passthrough kit p/n 1-00-677077. The flu pipe goes straight through the wall and then up the outside of the house for 4 feet and teminates 2 feet below the eve. I used a 45 elbow at the top instead of a cap.
  3. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest

    OP- dont take this the worng way, but Im guessing youre unit is dirty still
  4. jettech

    jettech New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    martinsville, IN
    I'm open to any ideas when troubleshooting so no offense taken. Since it has been a problem since I installed it I was thinking it was an installation or stove problem. Any specific tips on cleaning besides what the owners manual says?
  5. Mr. Spock

    Mr. Spock Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    659
    Loc:
    SW MA
    Hockeyfan mentioned his ignitor was misaligned in the cradle from factory. Might be worth taking a look.

    Have you tried another brand of pellets?
  6. jettech

    jettech New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    martinsville, IN
    I did remove the igniter and look at it. It was properly installed in the cradle and looked to be in good condition. I have not tried a different brand of pellets. I adjusted the door a little tighter today but that didn't seem to make any difference.

    How many pellets should be in the burn pot for light off. The auger pushes in a big pile to within 3/8 to 1/4 inch of spilling over. Then as soon as it lights the auger starts pushing in more pellets. It winds up with quite a bit more pellets in the burn pot when lighting then when it has big hot fire going. There just isn't enough room in the fire box for the size flame the large number of pellets create.

    Back to the dipswitches. You said 1-3 were for the pellet feed during the ignition cycle. If I wanted to turn down the pellet feed what switch or switches would I adjust. I can always come back to the original settings if it creates problems.
  7. boo boo

    boo boo Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    299
    Loc:
    So. NH
    I will jump in with my two cents
    My farther in law had this issue a few weeks back on his P43 It sounds like a different cause but has the same effect.
    At start up
    High out of control flame
    Black soot at the top on the window
    pellets to the edge of the burn pot an overflow
    He scrapes the burn pot daily However when I looked at it and cleaned it I felt with my hand in the bottom of the burn pot down by the auger about a half inch of solid creosote . I had to use a flat head screw driver to remove it and it. No issues after this
    I know the OP said this has been happening from the initial start of his stove but has the same signs.
    Lousyweather likes this.
  8. Mr. Spock

    Mr. Spock Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    659
    Loc:
    SW MA
    Here are settings of the dips 1-3

    Off off off - program default
    Off off on - program -21 sec.
    Off on off - program -43 sec.
    Off on on - program -64 sec.
    On off off - program +21 sec.
    On off on - program +43 sec.
    On on off - program +64 sec.
    On on on - program +85 sec.

    ETA: make note of your final changes if you keep them. I would place a strip of masking tape on the top of the control box noting the change. This way it can easily be seen if the stove is serviced by a tech.
  9. jettech

    jettech New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    martinsville, IN
    Thanks for the input. Every few days I scrape the burn pot with the tool provided and have even used an 1/8 inch drill bit by hand to make sure the air holes in the floor of the pot are open.
  10. jettech

    jettech New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    martinsville, IN
    Thanks, I'll let you know how it turns out.
  11. subsailor

    subsailor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,422
    Loc:
    Winthrop, Maine
    The Harman tool doesn't work all that well in removing the carbon buildup. I use a large flat blade screwdriver and a hammer. Some of that stuff in pretty hard to remove.
    Lousyweather likes this.
  12. jettech

    jettech New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    martinsville, IN
    First I tried setting the third dip switch to off to stop the ignition pellet feed sooner. The startup flame was a little smaller but still to large. Next I set the first dip switch to off and now the start up flame looks good. It still gets big but not rolling around inside the fire box. No more black soot on the top half of the glass either. My final dip switch settings for dips 1-3 are off off off which is about 3 minutes of pellet feed during the ignition cycle.

    It's been a great stove so far and I'm even more satisfied with it now. I burned a little over 2 tons of pellets to heat our whole house this last winter and the propane furnace never ran. Thanks for all the helpful posts.
  13. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest

    jeff, you tweeker! ==c
  14. Mr. Spock

    Mr. Spock Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    659
    Loc:
    SW MA
    Cool. Glad you found a solution.

Share This Page