Harman PC 45 ash pan

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

AXNJXN

Nov 26, 2013
ohio
Hello, Newcomer to this forum.
I have burnt corn and pellets for a few years (I am a Farmer and I burn corn when the prices allow). This year is my first for my PC 45. I burned pellets for awhile and loved it. Now I am burning corn, after adding the agitator and the end gate and I cannot believe how much ash accumulates compared to my older/simpler stove. I have to shut it completely down and pull the ash pan out, creating a huge mess every 2 days. I realize there is an advantage to not taking a clinker out, but I was wondering if I just need to suck it up and shut it down every 2 days?

Did you add the reflector plate?

Yes

Also are you using the burn tray with the very small holes?

The reflector helps raise temps for corn. Corn has a higher ignition temp by around 200 degrees. It seems to help but I only burnt corn in the pc45 for a couple days. Hot swap of ash bin no problem. I have a extra. Theres a restaurant in Ohio that has a Harman heating the place. Iburncorn.com has a lot of info on burning corn. I like blending corn with pellets for now as I bought my supply of pellets before corn went below $5. Weight of corn in area is around 54lb/bu. Not great. Last I bought was 63# three years ago for 4.25 and still using it. May load up the gravity box in the spring if still low as South America crop is doing well.