Harman PF 100 keeps blowing fuse

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by DoWnAqT, Jul 26, 2013.

  1. DoWnAqT

    DoWnAqT
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    11
    Loc:
    Dunbarton, NH
    As the title states, the PF 100 keeps popping the fuse on the back side of the control panel. The fuse is a glass 4 amp fuse. The weird part is the machine turns on, all blowers, igniter, feed etc. Just like it should and then randomly it blows the fuse on the back side of the board. Sometimes it will go 5 mins before it blows it. Nothing seems to set it off...I'm kind of lost.

    Anyways, I did just buy this thing and it needs a pretty severe cleaning, and a lot of surface rust to be cleaned off. The auger/feed wasn't moving either until I took it apart and got it all moving(thought the auger motor was shorting out). I bought it knowing it may need some help and I'm very mechanically inclined. Just not with circuit boards. So I'm wondering if the board I have is bad. I'm hoping someone here will chime in and know exactly what I need to do to get this resolved and stay running.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,470
    Likes Received:
    772
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    You have a bad motor... Most likely the combustion one
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. DoWnAqT

    DoWnAqT
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    11
    Loc:
    Dunbarton, NH
    Should I unplug it and then 'turn it on and see if it blows the fuse again?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,470
    Likes Received:
    772
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Unplug it, turn it off. Plug it in and turn the feed knob to test and let the unit. Cycle through the components.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. DoWnAqT

    DoWnAqT
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    11
    Loc:
    Dunbarton, NH
    Just unplugged the unit, disconnected the white wire on the fan for the combustion, plugged it back it, turned the feed to test, put in service mode, and it was on for about 3-5 mins. then just the combustion light was lit, for a bit, and then the fuse popped again. nothing was actually on when it popped.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. DoWnAqT

    DoWnAqT
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    11
    Loc:
    Dunbarton, NH
    And just to clarify, I plugged the unit back in, not the fan, the white wire of the fan was disconnected the whole time and the fuse still blew.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. MountainSean

    MountainSean
    Expand Collapse
    Credo Quia Absurdum

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    61
    Loc:
    Tonopah, NV
    Try the same test with the igniter. Do you have the old fin style igniter or the pump igniter? If it is the pump igniter also try disconnecting that. *Do not disconnect the pump and leave igniter on it WILL burn out
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. heat seeker

    heat seeker
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,580
    Likes Received:
    381
    Loc:
    Northern CT
    I would suggest the same thing, but a different order. I'd unplug every item that could be disconnected on the stove - motors, ignitor, etc. Plug it in to see if the fuse lasts. If it does, connect one item at a time and let it run for a while to see if the fuse lasts. When the fuse blows, it's most likely that last thing that you plugged in.

    Note: make sure you're putting the correct size fuse in. The previous owner may have put the wrong fuse in.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    basically, youre gonna disconnect everything, then plug stuff in one at a time, till the fuse blows......FWIW, new units have a 6 amp fuse these days, with no mods concerning the fuse being made to the circuit board.......blown fuses are usually a short-
    1. corrupted comb. blower
    2. bare spot on igniter leads, touching auger tube (usually will short out almost immediately in the ignition cycle)
    3. bad spot in wiring harness
    4. bad board
     
  10. DoWnAqT

    DoWnAqT
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    11
    Loc:
    Dunbarton, NH
    Finally getting around to messing with the stove again tonight, I found that unplugging the ignitor did the trick. The stove stayed on the whole time I was cleaning it and never blew a fuse. So I will be ordering a new ignitor for it tonight. I'll report back if it does fix it completely.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,470
    Likes Received:
    772
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    yeay!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. DoWnAqT

    DoWnAqT
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    11
    Loc:
    Dunbarton, NH
    I got the new igniter today, installed it, added some pellets to test fire the stove for the first time. Success!!! I not have a PF100 ready to be installed! Thanks for everyones help!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page