1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Harmon XXV not working

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Philmont2006, Dec 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Philmont2006

    Philmont2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Hi,
    I have a Harmon XXV pellet stove and last night I went to light it.... manually since sometimes the auto light takes a while.... well anyway I did not get it lit afte a few tries and then everything just shut down. I thought we blew a breaker... checked the house breaker it was fine and even tried something else in the outlet and it worked. The little red light that show power on is not lit anymore either..... when it stopped the auger, blower just shut off.... just like I unplugged it. Now we can't get it to do anything,,, anyone have any ideas???
    Thanks Dave

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. lbcynya

    lbcynya Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Loc:
    W Michigan
    Did you check the wall socket for power? If so, you'll have to get at the fuse on the control board then you'll have to find out what took out the fuse. That would be my guess.
  3. heat seeker

    heat seeker Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,122
    Loc:
    Northern CT
    Sounds like a fuse in the stove. It's probably on or near the control board, someone more familiar with your stove will be along to tell you where it is exactly. It's not common for the fuses to blow. I'd try one more fuse, and if it blows, you'll need to find out why. Fuses occasionally quit from fatigue, but usually there's a short somewhere.
  4. Outerlimits

    Outerlimits Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Loc:
    West MI
    Please give update when problem is solved and good luck.
  5. THE ROOSTER

    THE ROOSTER Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    339
    Loc:
    Home of Wild Turkey 101 & Lake Cumberland
    Like thet said above me, the fuse in the stove appears to be your problem. Any lick locating it yet?
  6. Vermont-XXV

    Vermont-XXV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Loc:
    Champlain Valley, Vermont
    Dave,

    I have an XXV (third year) and have had no problems with the auto start yet. But I've been waiting.

    The fuse is noted on the wiring diagram (for the Accentra and XXV) that's in the operating manual, as being a "6 amp glass fuse" and seems to be in the electrical vicinity of the ESP control board, where the remote sensor port wires runs to and the esp probe wires run to. The igniter element inside the burnpot runs there also - it is yellow. There is a "white 11 pin plug" there also.

    Hope this helps. I'm an accountant and know how to save and locate operating manuals, not actually DO anything of value. I do know that you should make sure you unplug the stove before you do anything electrical.

    Merry Christmas!

    clifford - in Vermont where it's 16 degrees right now.
  7. Philmont2006

    Philmont2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Thank you everyone, I took a few days off and went to the cabin, I'm back and will check the pellet stove tonight or tomorrow. I have the owners manual but only looked in the trouble shooting part and not the wiring diagram. We will clean the stove well and I will find the fuse. Its a good stove but I still like my regualar all manual wood stove at the cabin at times like this..... I will let everyone know how it goes.... Thanks again for the feedback, I do really appreciate it...
  8. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,394
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    You'll hafta pull the control board out of the stove.
    IIRC, the fuse is located on the back side of that board...
  9. Philmont2006

    Philmont2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    UPDATE:
    Thanks everyone for your help, the fuse was blown and we replaced it. We cleaned everthing, even the blower motor fan which was not even dirty. Anyway everything seems to work fine but we can't seem to get the pellets to light either with autolight or with matches... (same problem before we blew the fuse) I thought maybe the pellets were bad (moist)but if I take then outside they light pretty easier with a match. My girlfriend thinks it not getting enough draft when we close the door but man to me it seems maybe to much air is blowing by, I don;t know but we need some help. The stove is clean from top to bottom (vacumned cleaned)....
    Any ideas????
    Thanks Dave
  10. forya

    forya Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    Loc:
    Bucks County Pa
    I use a torch to manually light. I didn't think you could just use a match. They even sell starting gel to use.
  11. alan323

    alan323 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Loc:
    Rockland, Maine
    Now I don't know if this is the best way but this worked for me:
    I had my igniter die on me a few weeks ago. (Now repaired under warenty) This is what I did:
    Bought some starter gel and and a candle lighter.
    When ever i needed to start my stove. I'd flip the ignitor selector to auto
    Set it to either Stove Temp or Room Temp of the Fan Speed dial.
    Set the Temp desired on the Temp Dial
    Let the burn pot fill until the auger paused (usually when it was close to full.)
    Flipped the ignitor selector to manual
    Squished a generous helping of starter gel in the pellets and lit them.Once the stove reached the proper temp the controller takes over and starts to feed the right amount of pellets.
  12. Philmont2006

    Philmont2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    UPDATE<
    everyone, thanks for all your advise, we cleaned it again and again and now with the fuse replaced it works fine...
  13. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,371
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403
    I hate to say this but fuses do not just blow for no reason. There is a problem in the stove and you need to find out what the problem is. I would start with the ground and the igniter.

    Eric
  14. AbuJas

    AbuJas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Hampton Falls NH
    Just b/c you are not using the ignitor to light the stove any longer, doesnt mean you can ignore the cleanout under the burnpot. The draft coming from the exhaust fan needs to pull air from the room to create combustion. The more crap that is in the space where the ignitor is housed, will create a problem for the proper amount of combustion air to travel through the stove. And also, make sure all the holes in the burnpot are clear, for complete combustion. I have seen numerous occassions where the trap door area of the burnpot is so full, the ash has no where to go as the burn holes are starting to get backed up and only a modest amount of combustion air is getting thru the burnpot, creating uneven burn patterns or difficulty getting the stove started at all. The stove will trip the breaker, even if you have the stove set to manual light, if the ignitor is grounded out, or has bare wire (inoperable).
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page