Hearth brutha hooks me up; Cat probe ready to go!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Woody Stover

Minister of Fire
Dec 25, 2010
Southern IN
Todd, longtime hearth.com member and former Keystone burner, bought a secondary-burn stove for his new place. He saw me post (maybe a hundred times:rolleyes:) about being way late on installing a digital cat probe in my Keystone, which I've been burning for many years. Maybe he thought "If I give him my old probe, maybe he'll finally get off his butt and do it." 😆 It's an Auber AT200 digital termometer kit, with two thermocouples! 🤗 Embodying the helpful, generous spirit that is the basis of the community here at hearth.com, Todd is indeed the man! :cool: My hat is off to you, sir!
It's been quite a few weeks since he shipped it to me (no charge, no less😃) but I finally got 'er done today. In my defense, I was feeling pressure since I'm still scrambling to get dry wood for two SILs for next season. But now that I've found lots of stuff that I think I can get dry in time, or already is dry, I'm feeling better about the situation and feel like I don't have to go get wood every day.
All the cards fell right for getting that probe installed today: Warm day where I could let the stove go out, me having a cold, so being a bit tired to go out and get wood, and it was windy so going in the woods coulda been unsafe. So I went with the probe install.
When I opened Todd's package, I saw that in addition to the 10" cat probe, he had also included the washer-probe sensor for single-wall pipe. 👍