Hearth Planning: Flat Screen TV

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Vic99

Minister of Fire
Hearth Supporter
Dec 13, 2006
MA, Suburb of Lowell
Anyone have a flatscreen tv over their woodstove/above the mantel? Any regrets? I just started a remodeling project and think I might get a flat screen. Over the woodstove is an option. At first I thought it might look cluttered or take away from the woodstove. I figure. I'll lose mantel space too. Any one with experience or pics?

I have no experience but my first thought was that you'ld end up with melted tv due to the heat from the stove - heat rises and wood stoves throw out lots of heat.

I have contemplated doing the same thing since my wall above the mantle is recessed. I was told by a salesman as long as the space can remain below 92 F it would be OK to put a flat screen TV there. All I can recommend is to put a thermometer there and see if it stays below 92.

Below 92F?! Ha! (not intending to slam your comment) No way would it stay below 92 above a stove. More like 142.

I wouldn't do it.

This question has come up a few time and would make a great article. If you search on 'LCD TV', that should link to several threads on the subject. It can be done, depending on the installation, mantle and perhaps even the airspace created by the support bracket. Here's a starter:

https://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/forums/viewthread/21002/P0/

What DD said.