Heatilator Quit working!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

tablerock

Dec 29, 2023
Springfield MO
I have a Heatilator GNDC30, around 20 years old that started having issues this season. It started out not wanting to stay lit, would require relighting occasionally, or multiple attempts to light. Then, more recently just quit working altogether.

This model has a pilot light and it does stay on correctly. I have no experience with home HVAC repair, but was able to replace the igniter/thermocouple/thermopile assembly yesterday. Put it back together, got the pilot going, and nothing happens when I flip the switch on. No clicking/sparking at the ignitor. I put a voltmeter on the wires coming from the thermopile with the switch off and its around 760mv, but does not change when I flip the wall switch. I read on a troubleshooting chart somewhere that it should drop in half when switched.

With my meter on the 2 leads coming from the wall switch, I get the same 760mv when switched off, drops to 0 when flipped on.

I don't get any clicking noise when the wall switch is flipped on and I don't see any arcing either. I'm not sure if I should or not.

Any ideas? Things with me are always going to be something off the wall. Like a spider web in the gas tube or ???

Try jumping the TH & TH-TP terminals with a wire or paper clip. See if it starts. If it does, your wall switch might be the culprit.

Try rapping on the side of the valve with a plastic screwdriver handle. A solenoid could be stuck. If that doesn’t work, the valve may be shot. 20 years is a long life for a gas valve.