Heating water with a copper coil inside the heat shield of the wood stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
I have no experience in it, but it seems like the way you'd have to wrap the coils would open you up to possible steam pockets. That could give you very bad results.

Sounds like a good way to test your insurance policy to me...

Does anybody have any experience with heating circulating water in a half inch copper coil behind the heat shield on their woodstove?
There are stoves designed to do this, so if that's your end goal, you might do well to just trade up to one of those. Do note that there are also (nearly countless) stories of exploding boilers in wood-fired kitchen stoves, in the middle-1800's up thru early-1900's. Getting this right is not trivial, there's a reason boilers require certification, and I don't believe copper would be anyone's material of choice for this application.

There was a regular contributor to this forum who mostly focused on wood-fired cookstoves, was a reseller of such, and would be a good resource if you were looking to buy a stove set up with a boiler. Jebadiah stoves, was it? @begreen would remember.