Heating with Wood, what to do about Hot Water

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mudsliders

Hearth Supporter
Dec 19, 2006
I am new to the forum. Lots of good info. I have been heating my home with a Jotul Oslo for three years now. My hot water still comes from a tank-less oil fired boiler that was used for water and heat. I am looking for a more efficient way to heat my water. I have seen setups that use the wood stove, but I am not so interested in anything like that. Are oil fired water heaters/tanks appreciably more efficient than my 12 year old tank-less oil boiler? Just looking for options/direction. Thanks. Ray

I'm in the same boat Ray
I am looking into a passive solar that will at the least assist the boiler in turning out hot water as well as a boilermate and maybe even just a storage tank in the basement that will keep the water warmer than it is when it comes out of the well.

I do want to continue to have the boiler heat the water in case I ever need to go back to it for any reason (vacations ETC) just so I know the whole system works properly.
Once you let a system like that go dormant you will have nothing but issues with it when and if you ever need it again.

Boiler. furnaces should be cycled like any engine and not left completely dormaint, Wood stoves are great for shutting off your boiler on the flip side a tankless boiler running in winter was almost free hot water. This post has been addressed many times before when the boiler cycles without a demand that is to heat the fire box.