Heatmaster wood boiler leak

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Take no prisoners

Apr 10, 2024
OKANAGAN B.C.
I have a G200s Heatmaster wood boiler that has a 'phantom' leak...

I went away for the weekend and stacked the boiler with wood (something I have done numerous times over the last 4 years) to keep it going as long as possible before my electric furnace (Back-up) comes into action.
When I returned 3 days later the Heatmaster had emptied itself out completely.. yeap there was a mega puddle on the ground and it had completely emptied itself. As I opened the the ash clean-out at the bottom of the boiler remaining water rushed out... and the gauge showed empty!
I decided to fill the boiler up again to see if I could identify where the leak was. I filled it up to full and looking into the rear of the ash box I could not see any trickle..dribble..or any water anywhere!? Its now 3 weeks and the gauge is still 'FULL' and no sign of any leak ANYWHERE... I have not lit it again.... WTF is going on?? All I can think of is that when it's running hot something is expanding and opening up a crack or seam. Any suggestions or has anyone experienced the same?

Boiler.jpg

Sounds like you are on the right track...even gas/oil fired boilers are prone to leak a lil when they go cold...usually at gasket surfaces, which I dunno if the HM G200 has any? You might call HM and ask them for ideas...

Reactions: all night moe
I would say you can narrow down where the leak is by where the water line was when it was empty.
So somewhere near the bottom inside...