Hello, everyone. Newbie here

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

myrnamp

Dec 20, 2007
middletown, ny
Please help me, we just bought a house and i have a timberline wood stove, it is very big and it looks pretty new. i finally got the courage to try it on today, well it was not a total disaster, but i think the wood that i used was not seasoned well because it burned really fast. My question is about the damper, some say to leave it open, others say to close it. Is the damper the same thing as the 2 knobs i have in front of the doors of the stove, there are two big knobs you open and heat comes out, and there is small like switch at the flue of the chimmeney( i think that's what is called), i think this is the damper. Should i keep it open or close, and how about the knobs. Also how can i built a fire that last a long time, instead of putting in wood every 1/2 hour. Thank you so much in advance. Myrna

Welcome Myrna. First I have to ask, did you have the chimney cleaned first before you started burning? You always want to start off the season with a clean chimney, especially with an unknown flue. You will benefit from having the chimney sweep give the entire system a good looking over for integrity and safety.