Hello new here and need some guidance

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

384sqft

Hearth Supporter
Oct 8, 2009
Arkansas
Hello,

I was given a Vigilant 1977 today looks nearly new was only used a year or so back around 1980. The man had a stroke and had to switch to gas heat. The plan is to install it in our 384sqft cabin. Due to the way the cabin is built we can't go through the roof with the chimney so plan on taking it out the wall. I'm new at this stuff I grew up with wood heat and have built my share of fires but this isn't my fathers Ashley.

I've been reading some on the forum and everyone talks about it heating thier 1600sqft plus homes. How big/small a fire will I need to build to heat the cabin? I don't have the $$$ to buy a new stove now but I hope to in the future. I have a chainsaw and access to nearly 60 acres of trees though.

Any pointers/advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

Lily

That should be a great stove for a cabin. I'd go with shorter/hotter fires. Just don't run it too cool (with too little air), and keep a close eye on your pipe for creosote buildup.

Lily, when you go through the wall, be sure to have a minimum of 1/4" rise per foot of horizontal pipe. To be sure, we are closer to 1/2" rise per foot on ours. In our cold climate, an exterior SS chimney is not supposed to work all that great (according to some) but we have no problem with draft at all.