1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Help Me! P43 Issues

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Kherr, Jan 24, 2013.

  1. Kherr

    Kherr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Loc:
    Nampa, Idaho
    So, I will try not to be long winded. 2.5 weeks ago, my stove started acting like the feed rate was on like a two or three. In other words, not getting hot, not feeding the normal amount of pellets. 2 weeks Saturday, I cleaned it out, cleaned the ESP, and it ran okay, but still not like before. Last Sunday, I removed the ESP, and cleaned it up nice and shiny silver. Again, has run okay. Tonight my daughter let it run out of pellets, so I fired it up, and it will feed pellets like every couple of minutes with no real heat. I even tried stove temp mode, on max, and blah. I swear it acts like feed rate is a one, and the dial for the feed rate is not fluid, and has several catches I will call them as you turn it up and down. I have shut it down, going to clean it all out and clean the stove pipe, which has not been done this winter. In the mean time, any ideas as to what is going on?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. subsailor

    subsailor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,439
    Loc:
    Winthrop, Maine
    Do you clean your heat exchanger real good? A lot of ash builds up right above the door. I clean mine with a paint brush.

    The stove should feed pellets every minute, the length of the feed will determine the heat output. I
  3. Bioburner

    Bioburner Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,954
    Loc:
    West central Mn
    Vacuum issue because of dirty venting,vacuum switch will turn on and off the auger as vacuum comes and goes. That's 1 possibility. Control pot switch is at its life cycle-worn out. A very well known issue. How old of stove? How much venting and bends? How old of kids? Stuck toy syndrome in auger flight that wont let full amount of pellet to be fed.
  4. Kherr

    Kherr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Loc:
    Nampa, Idaho
    Old kids. I am sure she turned it up to stay warm and then left without a reload. It is less than a year old. Venting has a clean out and then straight up to connect to my 6" roof connection from my old wood stove. About 10 feet of 3" before conversion to 6.
  5. Bioburner

    Bioburner Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,954
    Loc:
    West central Mn
    6 inch pipe have a good cover? Still could be 3 inch venting. Or as I have found through the years in larger uncovered chimnies,squirrel,starlings, wood duck,mallard etc.
  6. mikkeeh

    mikkeeh Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Loc:
    NE Ohio
    Have you had the fines box open???? If so, make sure the lid is sealed. If not it will cause vacuum/feed problems.
    Kherr likes this.
  7. Kherr

    Kherr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Loc:
    Nampa, Idaho
    I really thought that was issue, as it seemed loose when I cleaned it out a bit ago. However, I just fired it up and first impressions are not good. It lit right up, burned off the pellets from the startup and now it is just sort of burning. Even though feed rate is 5 stove temp 7. It seriously goes several minutes between when the auger runs. Fire almost dies and then it feeds a few pellets. Round and round it goes. I see a service call for tomorrow.
  8. Bioburner

    Bioburner Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,954
    Loc:
    West central Mn
    Could have cold enough flue to condense and freeze up as the pellet stove does not produce enough heat to keep the 6 inch pipe convecting up properly.
  9. Kherr

    Kherr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Loc:
    Nampa, Idaho
    I looked at everything last night. Last thing I fooled around with was the lid on the pellet bin. There were no pellets or pieces anywhere around the seal, but I just tightened the latch for one. Shortly thereafter, it roared to life, ran all night like it is supposed too. I love having my stove back at full tilt. I can only assume it was somehow drawing air through the pellet bin? Maybe that coupled with the loose fines cover was enough to send it over the edge?

    And, thanks for all the suggestions folks.
  10. Bioburner

    Bioburner Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,954
    Loc:
    West central Mn
    You owe us one or two. You were going to call for service and probably run a Dino burner!
    P38X2 likes this.
  11. P38X2

    P38X2 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,735
    Loc:
    Jaffrey, NH
    Glad you fixed it.
  12. Delta-T

    Delta-T Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,097
    Loc:
    NH
    loose fines cover is a nasty gremlin...sneaky, hiding in the dark, nether regions of the unit, never trust that you have that on there without diligent visual inspection.
  13. mikkeeh

    mikkeeh Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Loc:
    NE Ohio
    I had run into a similar problem. I was finding that mine would quit feeding if I didnt latch the lid on the hopper. Never seemed to be a problem before. After further checking I found that the lid on the fines box was not sealing. If the top lip on the cover doesnt catch just right,, it wont seal. Im guessing I was sucking enough air through there........combined with an unfastened hopper lid....that it tripped out the vacuum switch. Either one by itself is probably not an issue. Glad you got it figured out!
    Kherr likes this.
  14. Kherr

    Kherr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Loc:
    Nampa, Idaho
    I love this site, and I want to say thanks to everybody again for all the suggestions. A good cleaning, all your suggestions, and a diligent look at everything, did in fact save me some bucks on a service visit. Thanks again:):):)
  15. Bioburner

    Bioburner Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,954
    Loc:
    West central Mn
    With this cold weather your wait for heat from your stove might have been a very long one. Keep the hopper filled, or she's going to have cold cereal. Hint,Hint daughter dearest.
  16. Harman Lover 007

    Harman Lover 007 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,237
    Loc:
    Eastern Mass & Lakes Region of Maine
    Hhmmm, I never latch my hopper lid on my P61A. Stove runs fine....Even after 17 years I learn something new....
  17. Bioburner

    Bioburner Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,954
    Loc:
    West central Mn
    Maybe has a ah sloppy auger. This could get dirty:)
  18. Jefflitzy

    Jefflitzy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Loc:
    The other province of Ontario.
    hopper lid? lol I have had customers make bulk hoppers on top of a hopper out of plywood with no lid and work fine. Hopper held 15 bags plus
  19. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6,836
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    I was just asking for comments on that hopper, I do not make and sell those hoppers!

    I like to see what the public opinions are and if there is a better way of doing things, I try to find them. I am looking for someone that can make a hopper extension out of sheet metal for some of my customers. If you can or know someone then let me know. Thanks
    It was good to know that large hopper extensions do not cause any issues. That is one thing I learned from this post!
  20. mikkeeh

    mikkeeh Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Loc:
    NE Ohio
    Mine always did too. I'm sure you leak some air with the lid not latched, but under normal circumstances, not enough to cause a problem. The leak created at the fines box lid, was not enough to cause a problem either, but BOTH together, caused enough air leak to effect the vacuum switch.

Share This Page