Home made hearth tools

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

kevinmoelk

Hearth Supporter
Okay, well I'm a newbie. I'm wondering how many folks have made their own hearth tools. Are there more tools involved than just the standard brush, poker, pan, log roller? Please excuse my lack of proper terminology. Any pictures?

I've got some 1/4 bar stock lying around. Ideas?

-Kevin

Attachments

• 1.JPG
    1.JPG
    50.3 KB · Views: 456
wrenchmonster said:
Cool idea Roospike, I may just have to steal it. This is going to sound very ignorant, but what is the rake used for?

I made the project for a school and they cant weld the project so i came up with this.

The question is not what a coal / ash rake is used for , the question is "what is a poker used for" ?
Do we really need to "poke" our wood ? no , not really .

The coal / ash rake is for when reloading your stove and you pull the hot coal to the front of your stove.

and or

pushing the coal to the back of the stove and pulling the ash foward for #1 to pull into the hole of the stoves ash pan system or to pull ash foward to let you scoop out ashes.

And then pull the coal back to the front and then reload with wood.

Modern wood stoves dont need the wood poked so the poker is kinda of a pointless tool for me anyway.

Check out my film loop of the PE Summit ash pan system in my Signature wrenchmonster ----->

http://invite.filmloop.com/x?BSZNCppQu-/BwhZTKqKJkmn4Tw4Lsq3R

Alright , pic for all you log pokers and wood hookers ...............................
(bet you were never called a "wood hooker" before)