1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Honeywell L4006A Aqua stat wiring

Post in 'The Boiler Room - Wood Boilers and Furnaces' started by Cornell3786, Nov 5, 2012.

  1. Cornell3786

    Cornell3786 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Loc:
    Roscommon, Mi
    I am working on the last piece of my Econoburn 150 boiler install, and I never put any thought into this, thinking it would be a no-brain er.

    The wiring diagram does not make sense to me. The terminals on the Aqua stat are not labeled.
    The white piece of paper describes the circuit panel on the back of my boiler.

    2012-11-05_10-27-31_31.jpg 2012-11-05_10-28-02_733.jpg Picture 6.png

    Could someone help simplify??

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. avc8130

    avc8130 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    953
    Loc:
    God's Gift to Gassification
    What is the aquastat supposed to do? The L4006A is a Break On Rise aquastat. The 2 terminals will be connected until the water temp reaches the set point of the aquastat. Generally this is used as the boiler over temp control.

    ac
  3. Cornell3786

    Cornell3786 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Loc:
    Roscommon, Mi
    I got hosed by my boiler dealer. I was supposed to by sent everything I would need for the install. He sent me one pump, almost no parts, 1" underground pipe(later to find its way undersized) and this aquastat. Also wanted me to plumb this in without a near boiler loop.

    To be honest I dont know what it is supposed to do. I thought it communicated with the blower, turning it on and off depending on water temp.
  4. avc8130

    avc8130 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    953
    Loc:
    God's Gift to Gassification
    It might be the control aquastat. I don't have an Econoburn so I'm not 100% sure. Since it is a break on rise, it could be used for the draft fan. Set to 180 it would "break" when the water temp hits 180 and "make" when the water temp drops below the differential setting. My Wood Gun uses a L4006A for this function.

    ac
  5. Cornell3786

    Cornell3786 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Loc:
    Roscommon, Mi
    That sounds like it would work.

    So it shouldn't matter what wire is on what terminal when the temp gets to whatever I set it to it will break and turn the fan off.
  6. maple1

    maple1 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,664
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    It's just a simple on/off switch, more or less.

    Line in on one side (black power wire), then line out to blower on the other (also black) - wire nut the whites together inside the enclosure.

    My guess.
  7. avc8130

    avc8130 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    953
    Loc:
    God's Gift to Gassification
    Correct.

    ac
  8. Cornell3786

    Cornell3786 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Loc:
    Roscommon, Mi
    Thanks guys I've learned a ton from everyone here! Much appreciated
  9. goosegunner

    goosegunner Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,232
    Loc:
    WI
    Did you get the documentation with the boiler?

    PDF documents available on Econoburn site under resources.

    My Econoburn controller has terminals for the aqustat. It is a safety that shutsdown the fan if there is a overheat. The controller also does that at setpoint, this is extra.



    Are you using storage? If so their recommended bypass loop is adequate for return protection, install a Danfoss or similar.

    gg

Share This Page