How do I add a wood furnace to my existing oil furnace

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

JA600L

Minister of Fire
Nov 30, 2013
Lancaster Pennsylvania
Hi guys,
I am buying a house with an oil furnace. The oil furnace is attached to the only flue in the basement.

Is there any way possible to add a wood furnace on to the oil furnace?

Is there any way that they could share the same flue. (Assuming the two are connected and working with each other. )

I plan to upgrade to a heat pump in the future but for right now this is what i have to work with. The PSG Caddy Is what I've been looking at. I'm a newbie with furnaces. I've been using a wood stove for 12 years. Thanks!
20230424_173211.jpg20230424_173158.jpg20230424_173147.jpg

There are devices called power flues that vent oil boiler out through vents in the wall (with lots of limitations on locations of vents) That would free up a flue. Much as I dislike and outdoor wood boiler you could install one outside.

The outdoor wood boiler could be an option at some point down the road, but I'm really just looking for a way to incorporate a wood furnace at this point

What size is the chimney flue? 8"?
Is it lined...or just masonry?

8" masonry from what I can tell.

In the picture with the blue pressure tank, there is an opening in the foundation wall with plywood over it - is that an old window opening?
If so I would consider running 6" Class A Supervent through that opening and go straight up the side of the house for a new flue for the wood furnace.