How far apart to put stacks for seasoning

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

fabsroman

Minister of Fire
Jun 1, 2011
West Friendship, Maryland
I am getting ready to build some 16' (i.e., 8' butted up against 8') racks for seasoning firewood. Should be able to get over a cord in each row if I stack 5' or 6' high. Question is, how much space should I leave between rows to get them to season quickly? Obviously, the less space the better so I can put more wood on the property. However, I am just getting started and I need to get this stuff up to speed and seasoned ASAP.

Some say to leave enough room between the stacks so that you can easily walk in between without touching the sides. But if you are pressed for space (and many of us are ), I think that a good 12"-16" will suffice. It has always worked well for me, anyway.

fabsroman said:
I am getting ready to build some 16' (i.e., 8' butted up against 8') racks for seasoning firewood. Should be able to get over a cord in each row if I stack 5' or 6' high. Question is, how much space should I leave between rows to get them to season quickly? Obviously, the less space the better so I can put more wood on the property. However, I am just getting started and I need to get this stuff up to speed and seasoned ASAP.

I put a pallet between my rows, so. . . 4" or so? I have no idea whether or not this is "enough," but, no one else here does either. I say just do whatever you want because, well, you're going to anyway.

16'x6'x16" is a cord. If you go 5' high, then you're at 5/6's of a cord.