how much ash before emptying

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Egghead

Jan 18, 2013
Williamson, GA
We just got our Z42 installed a couple of weeks ago so I'm still learning new things almost daily. Question for today is how much ash do you typically allow to accumulate before you start emptying? I understand that you want to try keeping a nice bed of coals but ours (along with a lot of ash) is almost to the bottom of our doors. We have been trying to keep the fire going as much as possible so it doesn't take long before we have quite a bit in there. I emptied some a week ago while everything was still hot but didn't care doing it with so much heat. With so much ash, we are unable to load as much as the unit can hold so overnight burns are a real challenge.

I shovel out a couple shovel loads of ash every couple of days so it never builds up, I just push the big coals to the back and it leaves just black ash in front. If it gets really warm I'll let it burn down quite a bit and take all but one inch but by doing a couple shovels every day or every other day it doesn't give it a chance to build up to much.

When ours gets to the bottom of the door, we take out most of the ash, leaving behind and chunks....usually every third day when burning 24/7

I let it go until I can't fit the amount of wood I want to in. Stir your coals every time you load and it lets the ash settle down to the bottom while the coals rise up to where they will burn.