How much soot in the pipe to expect??

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rehabbingisgreen

Sep 29, 2010
Missouri
Ok today I did my usual shut down and clean out. I also went out and opened the T and cleaned the excess ash out of the external part of the pipe and there was much more ash than I expected. We've been burning as main source of fuel since October but I still didn't expect this much. This is my first year so I'm still learning. If warm weather ever comes I hope to get this thing running a bit better, it's producing ash that is still in the form of pellets also instead of a nice complete burn.

How much fuel have you put through the stove since October? BTW, that is a LONG time to go w/o cleaning the pipe, unless you haven't burned much.

Most people clean the entire exhaust pipe after each ton or so.

How many bags have you burned since the venting was cleaned?

It really is not an annual thing, it is ash driven.

imacman said:
How much fuel have you put through the stove since October? BTW, that is a LONG time to go w/o cleaning the pipe, unless you haven't burned much.

Most people clean the entire exhaust pipe after each ton or so.

Ok good to know that. Had no idea as with the wood stove we only cleaned it pre-season but burned it often September through May. I'll get on a more frequent schedule.

Any best way to get in there and clean out the straight pipe from the stove without moving the stove around?

rehabbingisgreen said:
Any best way to get in there and clean out the straight pipe from the stove without moving the stove around?