1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

I want to buy direct vent propane stove and vent up existing pre-fab chimney...

Post in 'It's a Gas!' started by alltherage, Dec 8, 2012.

  1. alltherage

    alltherage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    147
    Loc:
    chautauqua County, NY
    Can I do this? It's a prefab Temco propane insert that really is for looks only...it generates very little heat. I want to put a direct vent propane insert in or put a freestanding stove in front of the othe original opening and vent up the pre-fab chimney? Is this a go or not?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,025
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    If you have a factory-built zero-clearance wood burning fireplace, with a gas log set in it, yes. If your existing unit is something other than that, we'll need to know exactly what the model is before we can help you.
  3. alltherage

    alltherage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    147
    Loc:
    chautauqua County, NY
    it's a propane pre-fab that has a vent going to a chimney....all prefab metal. i'll look for model number today
  4. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,025
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Maybe a pic or two as well?
  5. alltherage

    alltherage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    147
    Loc:
    chautauqua County, NY
    it's in a corner of the living room. They built around it so there's a "fake" wall. it would seem that venting out the side would be a pain because you would have to pull the old unit entirely, vs potentially using the existing chimney.
  6. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,025
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Look just inside the opening. Many manufacturers mount the rating plate there.
  7. alltherage

    alltherage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    147
    Loc:
    chautauqua County, NY
    sorry about the delay....the stove is a Temco model DV5200MBN vented gas fireplace heater. I want to rip it out and either put in a propane insert (that will generate REAL heat unlike this thing) or a pellet insert. It's put together with rivets and screws. It's perplexing when i look at it trying to figure out how to disassemble it. I guess you just drill out the rivets. It's built into a corner so there is a straight wall/fake wall (non structure supporting)that eliminates the actual corner. The corner is there obviously, but obscured by the fireplace and fake wall. ill try to get pics soon. thanks for any help you can give.
  8. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,025
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Here's the manual:

    http://literature.mhsc.com/vermont_castings/manuals/78674_DV5200MBN.pdf

    You should be able to get SOME heat out of this thing - It's rated at 25K BTU input. You should be able to get about 20K out of it. This is NOT an insert. It is a gas fireplace. You will have to replace it with another fireplace, or a pellet insert that has a zero clearance (ZC) shell to mount it in after you frame everything. If it were my home & I was going to replace it with a larger unit, I would tear EVERYTHING out. The framing that is in your corner with restrict you to a certain size. If you tear everything out, you can put whatever you want in there.
  9. alltherage

    alltherage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    147
    Loc:
    chautauqua County, NY
    great...thanks so much!! i'll send pics when i get a chance. It does put out some heat, the blower helps. I'm shocked that it's rated at 25k though. I was next to a ventless 25k and there was no comparison. Alot of the heat goes up the vent i guess.
  10. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,025
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Do you have it turned all the way up?
  11. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,289
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    If this is a "decorative" vented appliance, which I suspect it is (I used to sell Temco), then it might not even be rated for efficiency and the output could be much lower.

    Also, gas efficiency measurements can be a bit misleading.
    The closest thing I have seen to accurate measurements comes from Canada:
    http://oee.nrcan.gc.ca/pml-lmp/index.cfm?action=app.formHandler&nr=1#searchResults
    shows some of the majestic units. As you can see, even the better DV Majestic gas fireplaces are 44% total efficiency, which means only about 11,000 BTU output for 25,000 input.

    A ventless or vent-free, on the other hand, probably gives an 85% plus total measured efficiency, or double as much.

    There are some gas DV units which are quite efficient, but you have to be careful about the manufacturers claims - that's why I like this Canadian list!
  12. alltherage

    alltherage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    147
    Loc:
    chautauqua County, NY
    i've experimented quite a bit with the blower and lo/hi knob on the bottom of teh stove

Share This Page