I want to operate my stove from my smartphone!!

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by StormPanic, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. StormPanic

    StormPanic
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    9
    Loc:
    Merrimack Valley, MA
    There's gotta be a way I can hook up one of those new wifi thermostats and operate my stove from my phone.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. 343amc

    343amc
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    181
    Loc:
    West Michigan
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. Cowdogz

    Cowdogz
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    9
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    Can't remember if it was Bosca or Rika, but the European versions of their stoves let you do that. You can call your stove when you are away and have it turn on so the place is warm when you get home.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. SwineFlue

    SwineFlue
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    92
    Loc:
    NE Pa
  5. Delta-T

    Delta-T
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,144
    Likes Received:
    579
    Loc:
    NH
    can I ask why? is it just for the novelty of the whole thing or do you really have a situation that calls for it?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    SwineFlue likes this.
  6. Mr. Spock

    Mr. Spock
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    199
    Loc:
    SW MA
    Control from any web enabled device...
    http://www.ecobee.com/solutions/home/smart/

    You would have to open a hole in your routers firewall to allow connection to these types of devices from the internet. If hackers find security holes in these devices you could end up with frozen pipes or worse. IMO, proceed with caution
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. John C.

    John C.
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    4
    Loc:
    Wethersfield Ct.
    Filtrete by 3m . 3m-50 model it works but not good on my stove or house,cycles to quick.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    8,881
    Likes Received:
    635
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
    Plus, it seems you're dependent on a server that might disappear.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. Redbarn

    Redbarn
    Expand Collapse
    Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    91
    Loc:
    SE PA
    Have been running and controlling our oil burner and pellet stove for 18 months now using 2 of these:

    http://www.controlbyweb.com/x300/

    These are industrial quality and work well.
    They send their current, daily, I.P. address to dyndns.com.
    I access a link at dyndns.com (for free) to monitor and control things.
    If I loose the internet link, they continue like a regular thermostat.

    I travel a lot and am able to monitor and control home from an iPhone.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. PoolGuyinCT

    PoolGuyinCT
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    87
    Loc:
    Plymouth CT
    It depends of the stoves logic, my castile I can't electronically control feed and fan rates, just test at if I wanted to.

    Should be simple to set up, if you have the appropriate controls in stove already.

    You can call up your pool or spa and tell it temp, light color, waterfalls on..

    To control stove doesn't look like a far reach.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. bonesy

    bonesy
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    34
    Loc:
    NE PA
    I would like to have my entire control panel in an "app" version. Not necessarily able to change anything, but at least see a clone of the control panel on the web or mobile, able to see live exactly what the stove is doing. IE, if it is on heat level 4, etc. those same lights would be lit on the app. I am sure it can be done but it well beyond my tech skills to figure it out.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    8,881
    Likes Received:
    635
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
    Thanks for the link. Dyndns.com has been around for a while? I had fooled around some with ZoneEdit at one time with a home web server.
    It's great that it's free. Seems like it would be more flexible and have more capabilities (sensors) than other WIFI thermostats out there.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  13. Redbarn

    Redbarn
    Expand Collapse
    Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    91
    Loc:
    SE PA
    controlbyweb.com is the manufacturer.

    dyndns.com is the service I use to locate it if, like most people, your Internet IP number changes frequently.
    If you have a fixed IP number, these web thermostats can be directly accessed with no intermediates.

    They are intended for controlling apartment buildings and Time Shares, where access to home units is uncertain. They work great.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  14. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    8,881
    Likes Received:
    635
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
    I get it now, mostly. The unit requires dyndns? You can't use another service?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. Redbarn

    Redbarn
    Expand Collapse
    Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    91
    Loc:
    SE PA
    The unit doesn't require any particular service.
    I just set our home router to tell dyndns.com the daily web IP address of our house. Any similar service can be used.
    The web thermostat is its own web server but sits behind our house router. I just need to know where it is on the web in order to reach it.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  16. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    8,881
    Likes Received:
    635
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
    Awesome. Thanks very much. I had been looking at remote thermostats lately, but they all relied on their own services.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  17. StormPanic

    StormPanic
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    9
    Loc:
    Merrimack Valley, MA
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  18. berg

    berg
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Loc:
    utah
    My son uses sthe NEST and it works well. He was in toronto last week and turned down his thermostat in Utah via his iphone.

    well worth the coin IMO.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page