Imperial Thermometer question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Seanbear

Burning Hunk
Dec 27, 2021
Central PA
I have a magnetic Imperial stove thermometer....I can keep it in the yellow range, which I assume is good? Once in awhile itll go into the red, but not real far, 550-600 degrees. I am asking if that is way too hot, or semi normal? Im kinda new to this, second year. Its a United States Stove Co. the kind like for a small cabin, if that helps. I cleaned my chimney 2 days ago, and very little creosote, so I think Im doing good. I burn kiln dried ends from a carpenter friend, and store bought logs sometimes. I use a creosote shot once in awhile, are they any good....do they do anything? Thanks for any info!!!

550 to 600 is perfect stove top temp. Getting into the 700’s is ok too. Any more and that gets to be too hot. I would not use creosote removal products- just a waste of money if you’re normally burning at those temps and getting little buildup when you sweep.

Thanks for the info. I feel better now, I worry about everything, lol....My gauge is on the pipe, about a foot or so high. Is that too low,,or should I put it right on the stove top?

Thanks for the info. I feel better now, I worry about everything, lol....My gauge is on the pipe, about a foot or so high. Is that too low,,or should I put it right on the stove top?
Your temps are to high for pipe temps. And the thermometer should be 18" above the stove. What stove is it? What is your chimney setup etc?