Info On NG or LP Boiler w/radiant Heat!!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Hillbilly80

Nov 6, 2010
Northwest Ohio
Hello All. I'm very new to this kind of stuff but this place seems to be a very informative site. I've done some homework on which routes I want to go, and I've really narrowed my choice down to going with Radiant Floor Heat, with some type of boiler. The house will be 1800 sq ft. Ranch with 9ft poured wall basement. Construction should begin sometime in January. Yeah I don't like that thought of building in the winter but with rates so low I have a good opportunity and we are taking it. With everything warranted I'm not worried. So, the biggest question is which type of boiler to use. I've researched Coal and Wood Gasification systems quite a bit. I've found Coal is very hard to get where I live w/out getting 22 tons brought in at once which will not work for my 3.5 acre lot with no buildings to put it away in. As far as wood goes. Lets just say I've never cut wood, never had an interest in cutting wood, don't have a truck or trailer or chainsaw. So that kind of rules out wood for me. Then I started researching natural gas and propane gas boilers, but cannot really find any good opinions on how good they are for the type of heating I want. The house will come with a NG or LP Furnace of my choice using Forced Air which I really do not want to have in my house. From what i've learned its not very efficient, dirty air, not as comfortable as radiant heat, etc, etc. I just want to use the duct system for my central air in the warmer months. My biggest concern