1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Installation of a 1800i in our house

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by mackconsult, Oct 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mackconsult

mackconsult Member

Loc:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    I have an existing zero clearence fireplace in our 10 year old house that is framed into a chase. After talking with a local reseller he said that the 1800i would probably fit, although tightly. Also the existing fireplace opening is 8" off the floor level and so I will have to support the 1800i on the front. The local reseller mentioned that I could just make some type of a metal shroud for the bottom.

I am a mechnical engineer with a seat of solidworks and have designed alot of parts out of sheet metal. I feel very comfortable designing a skirt for this purpose, but not really sure what I can use for material or paint given the heat that the wood stove insert gives off. Will standard 14 gage cold roll steel work, and can I just use a black powder coat paint job?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Regards ...... A guy with tons of wood but a very innefcient fireplace.

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. wg_bent

wg_bent Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    Look at install thread over on the picture forum... maybe some helpful hints there.
  3. DonCT

DonCT Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Bristol, Connecticut
  4. wg_bent

wg_bent Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    Thanks Don...