1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Installation question of wood stove.

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by TooColdHere, Feb 3, 2013.

  1. TooColdHere

    TooColdHere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Loc:
    Kent Island, Maryland
    View attachment 92098 View attachment 92098 First, this is a great forum! I have spent hours reading many topics here. I have a question on our hopeful upcoming project, though.
    We have a raised peninnsula propane fireplace that is an eyesore and never used in our 1 story rancher. It measures 34"w x 24"d x 26"h with drywall above, sides and below. I would like to take the "box" out and refinish the back wall to install a wood stove. (I hope I am describing this well.)
    My question is, can the 10"-12" flue pipe from the ceiling to the attic be kept and use the appropriate 6"-8" double liner wall inside it? Can I keep eveything from ceiling to out the roof since it will be the same straight shot as the new?
    I appreciate any advice here. So far, all I have heard is everything from "a new masonary chimney has to be built...go with gas...but on another wall" to "$2,500 covers most any job". Seems like the days of a few years ago.
    Thanks!

    Attached Files:

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,399
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    If you're gonna install a woodstove, everything, including the vent that's in there, will have to come out. Not what you want to hear, but that's how it is. What venting you have in there isn't rated for woodstove temps. You can't run a double-walled liner inside an unapproved chimney. You have to run Class A Hi-Temp chimney from the first ceiling penetration all the way to the cap. That cap will have to be a minimum of 3' out of the roof & maybe higher...
  3. chimneylinerjames

    chimneylinerjames Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    381
    Yes, install a stove and use Class A chimney pipe. That will reduce your clearances to 2" and everything will be rated with wood stoves. No questioning or hoping it is safe.
  4. TooColdHere

    TooColdHere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Loc:
    Kent Island, Maryland
    Thank you for the replies! One more question, (I was just looking at a video on Class A) what is the flex pipe's purpose? I see rolls of it and that was what I was wondering if it could be run inside existing propane flue pipe. I like your answers better than mine, though. :)
    Dasky, you said "You can run a double-walled liner inside an unapproved chimney." I assume you meant "can't"? Thank you again!
  5. chimneylinerjames

    chimneylinerjames Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    381
    The flex pipe is designed to be installed inside an existing chimney, whether it is masonry or a metal chimney designed for wood. Many times people have an open fireplace with a metal chimney that is, lets say 12". Then they want a wood stove with a 6" outlet. They need to reduce the size of the flue, so you can slide a flex pipe inside the existing chimney. Since the existing pipe was already designed for the high heat of a wood fire, it is no problem.

    But since your existing chimney is designed for much cooler gas temp of propane, it is not safe to install the flex pipe inside your existing chimney.
  6. TooColdHere

    TooColdHere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Loc:
    Kent Island, Maryland
    Perfect. Thank you so much! I have always wanted a wood stove....I think I can smell it now. And thanks to you guys...it wont be my house I smell burning. :)
    Thanks!
  7. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,399
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Yep. I fixed it. Good catch. I was trying to answer you & watch the game....bad at multi-tasking...
  8. TooColdHere

    TooColdHere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Loc:
    Kent Island, Maryland
    Thanks, It took me three times reading while watching the game to confirm. Looks like we may have a game now!! Enjoy!
  9. PapaDave

    PapaDave Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5,740
    Loc:
    Northern MI - in the mitten
    TCH, welcome to the Hearth.
    Good advice (as usual) so far, but I'd be concerned about what's inside that space to deal with the heat of a freestanding stove.
    Obviously, you've already thought about the back wall, but what about the top of that opening?
    Just trying to be cautious here, so that you don't get too far into this without discovering a big issue.
    More pics as you progress would be great.;)
  10. TooColdHere

    TooColdHere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Loc:
    Kent Island, Maryland
    Thanks, PapaDave. My plan is to remove the propane fireplace and knock that "column" out. The newly exposed rear wall (35"w) will be durarock with stone veneer and stove on a slate hearth. The double wall pipe will join the box at the ceiling and Class A up to the cap. Am I describing correctly?
  11. Bub381

    Bub381 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    867
    Loc:
    Mid-coast Maine
    I would shoot for a 1" air space between wall and protective wall and also check the hearth recommendation on the stove you decide to buy.May require just ember protection or may require a layer of Dorarock,24 gauge sheet metal and tile etc,can be different materials .This you MUST decide when you read requirements of your exact stove.Slate isn't enough for certain stoves as the insurance co will tell you if something should catch fire.

Share This Page