Installing a temp probe! in the flue of a wood insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

stanleyjohn

Minister of Fire
Hearth Supporter
Mar 29, 2008
southcentral Ct
This will be my first real season with my new Harman Exception wood insert.What would be the best way to install a probe to monitor the temp in the flue.I have heard that it can get pretty hot compared to the interior of the stove due to its downdraft design.I would like to monitor for any possible overfireing.If anyone knows what a typical temp range for my type of stove in the flue!please let me know.I'm still a rookie and want to do this all right!!.

You only need to insert it in the flu if it's sick. :) (just kiddin)

I would guess a flue temp of about 500-700 with the afterburner fired off.

The only way to install and read a probe in your insert flue pipe is to burn it with the surround off. Most insert people put a surface thermometer around the front face above the door.

Actually, mostly on the top of the stove unless it's an insert.

BeGreen said:
You only need to insert it in the flu if it's sick. :) (just kiddin)

I would guess a flue temp of about 500-700 with the afterburner fired off.

:lol: Thanx BeGreen.Heres hoping for a healthy stove with a long life.