Is smoke in the house ever acceptable?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

benignvanilla

Jan 12, 2007
I am a pellet stove newb, and have an interesting problem. We've had a few incidents where the pellets didn't burn well, and started to smolder filling the firebox with smoke. A few minutes later some smoke escaped the flue via minute cracks, and filled the room. My dealer says this is an overpressure condition and nothing to worry about.

What do you think?

I think you should add some pipe verticly to create a natural draft. Are you vented right out the rear strait back?

The pipe goes out the back, then vertical for 4-5 feet, out the wall and then vertical again for 3 feet or so. This problem has only occured once or twice. Normally we get great burns. I am beginning to wonder if we just have a bad bag of pellets here.

smoke escaped the flue via minute cracks, and filled the room. My dealer says this is an overpressure condition and nothing to worry about.

What do you think?

I'm sure a lot of "good advice" will be along shortly I can promise it will be more accurate than what was quoted

you mean the vent pipes joints are not sealed? Did you pay someone for installation. We need more info stove brand and model?
Is it new.. how is it vented .is it connected to outside air?

Sorry, I am a newbie to wood stoves.