Jags homebuilt splitter

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jags

Moderate Moderator
Staff member
Aug 2, 2006
Northern IL
A couple of requests for additional pics of my home built splitter has been made, so to not hijack a different thread I will start this one. I choose the wood shed forum instead of the equipment forum because the request was made from the wood shed. (Mods - feel free to move if necessary).
Its just a splitter. I am not a professional anything when it comes to metal work. Just an old farm boy that can stick stuff together.

A few specs:
8hp Briggs
16 GMP pump
5" x 24" ram.
1500# utility winch (12V)

Most interest seems to revolve around the log lift. The work table slides into the lift for easy removal. Winch is a power in/power out and I have never even came close to wearing a battery out in a days work. The lift goes from ground to level in 3 seconds.

Total cost for the stuff I had to buy was less than $600. The rest was stuff I had.

Attachments

• 003sm.jpg
    003sm.jpg
    161 KB · Views: 1,168
  • 005sm.jpg
    005sm.jpg
    83.2 KB · Views: 1,158
  • 100_1543sm.jpg
    100_1543sm.jpg
    96.5 KB · Views: 1,128
  • 100_1545sm.jpg
    100_1545sm.jpg
    109 KB · Views: 1,129
i especially like the color....nothing says "power" like that safety green/yellow.

Delta-T said:
i especially like the color....nothing says "power" like that safety green/yellow.

It is the only thing I have of that color - so its easy to find in the shed. :lol:

That is Awesome I know I have seen it many time, But it doesnt get old!

smokinjay said: