Johnson outdoor wood boiler

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Leonard

Nov 21, 2009
Central Maine
Was hoping I could get some insight on a Johnson outdoor wood boiler. I have been driving past this unit on my way to work for several months it is for sale on someones lawn (used). My future plans were to put a wood boiler in my cellar but if this unit is decent and priced right it may be worthwhile for me to look into. Is this a brand name unit and are there any pro's and con's about them?

I have seen a few around our area although I have not looked at them close. Being it is a OWB you will/can go thru a lot of wood. Do you have a good place to
cut? I have a Pacific Western and have not had to buy propane for 4 years, but man I have cut a lot of wood!
You might want to talk to the guy and feel him out as why he is selling it.

Gary

Curious as to what OWB means? Old wood boiler, LOL. I do not have a place to cut wood I will be buying tree length or 4' foot logs and processing them for my needs. I have not really put much thought into the outdoor boilers as I can picture myself in the pouring rain snow etc feeding it :-( My thoughts were a nice indoor boiler with the wood in the cellar a few steps away.

OWB= Outdoor Wood Burner 6-10 cord per year depending on your heating demand. Your bigger cost will be your pex tubing, fittings, heat exchanger and setup.

Gary