1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Jotul c450 Kennebec DIY install with Hearth.com help. Thank you all!

Post in 'The Inglenook' started by Rudyjr, Jan 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rudyjr

    Rudyjr Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Loc:
    Central Ohio
    Thanks to all who helped with valuable information and words of encouragement. Jim

    Attached Files:

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. ansehnlich1

    ansehnlich1 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,601
    Loc:
    Adams County, PA
    Man, if you're all set, fire that puppy up!

    Make sure there ain't no black powder sittin around :)
  3. BucksCoBernie

    BucksCoBernie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    450
    Thats a nice looking insert.
  4. Todd

    Todd Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Loc:
    Lake Wissota
    Nice! I like the Jotul surrounds. Why can't more manufactures make better looking surrounds?
  5. Rudyjr

    Rudyjr Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Loc:
    Central Ohio
    Thanks for the kind words. We are extremely pleased with the heat output and the look of it. It has been burning pretty much non stop since the installation on 12-14-08. The fourth and fifth pictures are from Christmas eve.
  6. airasah

    airasah New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Loc:
    Glastonbury, CT
    I have a question about the surround assembly for the C450. I am purchasing the optional mantel heat shield, do I need to move the entire stove to install it? Is is possible to just remove the surround without lifting the entire stove? If so, how do you remove just the surround?
    Thank You
  7. Rudyjr

    Rudyjr Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Loc:
    Central Ohio
    The surround lifts up and out from the front of the stove. It has four tabs bolted to the back of it that engage slots in a flange on the outer shell of the stove. It can be seen in the parts breakdown in the manual. There is no need to move the stove at all.
  8. airasah

    airasah New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Loc:
    Glastonbury, CT
    Thank you! That is what I thought, but for some reason the dealer told me that I had to move the stove out if I wanted to install the optional mantel heat shield.

    I have another question:
    What is the correct way to pick up the stove if I wanted to move it. I know it weighs about 450 lbs. We are considering moving it up to the first floor of our house since it currently sits in the basement in a 600 sqft area and it is very hard to get the heat up to the first floor due to the design of our house. Is a handtruck adequate? I imagine you pick it up from underneath.
    Thanks
  9. TreePapa

    TreePapa Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    583
    Loc:
    Southern Calif.
    With several strong young men to do the lifting and one older, wiser old fart to direct them.

    Peace,
    - Sequoia
  10. Rudyjr

    Rudyjr Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Loc:
    Central Ohio
    I took the doors off and removed the fire brick from the interior, the doors lift straight up off of the hinge pins when opened. Then two of us moved it with a rented appliance dolly. We did take the outer sheet metal shroud off also so we could ratchet strap it to the dolly. It is still pretty heavy and akward with all of that removed.
  11. kenny chaos

    kenny chaos Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,995
    Loc:
    Rochester,ny
    I love the colonial look of it all!
    good taste man-
  12. Rudyjr

    Rudyjr Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Loc:
    Central Ohio
    Thank you for the kind words.
  13. Mr A

    Mr A Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    597
    Loc:
    N. California
    this unit is my latest craigslist aquisition. Jotul C-450 kennebec stamped on the back, and it looks just like the one posted here. I picked it up for $500. Seller had original manual that says 55,000 BTU, but EPA sticker says 36,500. I think I got a good deal, what do you think? Now I just got to figure out how to install a chimney liner. I am not getting how to remove damper, and seal the liner once it is in. Or, even how this is possible. My fireplace dimensions are only slightly larger than minimums. How am I going to get my big hands in there to attach the liner and seal the damper?
  14. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,502
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Nice! If I ever replace my non EPA stove I think Jotul will be the first brand I go looking for. Hear lots of good things about them.

    How do you like it so far?
  15. Mr A

    Mr A Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    597
    Loc:
    N. California
    I don't have it in yet. I need to get the chimney cleaned, get the liner materials, and figure out what needs to be done to my existing masonry fireplace,ie, remove damper and open up smoke shelf if needed. I've never done this before and not finding any info that is making the process clear to me. i got a chimney cap and stove adapter. Seller could not get the flue out of the chimney, or I would have had the whole setup.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page