Jotul F3 CB -- big enough to heat 400 sq foot uninsulated garage?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

bulldogprof

Sep 2, 2017
Connecticut
Hello,

I'm still learning about woodstoves, so thanks for your help! I just bought a used Jotul F3 CB to heat a freestanding, uninsulated 400 square foot garage that I've been using as a study. We live in Connecticut where the winters can be harsh, so I'd love to hear from some folks with experience whether they think my new stove will do the trick. Thoughts, opinions, ideas?

The garage has two windows in addition to two garage doors, which I intend to seal as much as possible with weather stripping, spray foam, etc.

Thanks, everyone!

Maybe in milder weather, but not likely in zero degree weather unless you insulate. It takes a lot of firepower to heat a space up from cold temps because it not only is heating the air, but all the mass that is in the space too, including walls, floor and ceiling. Insulating will help. Also, be sure it's allowed to put a stove in this space by the local inspecting authority. Stoves in garages are not allowed in many jurisdictions.

I wouldn't try to heat an uninsulated space in Connecticut. It's a losing person's game. The heat goes out constantly and quickly. If you plan to make it warm in the winter, insulate it first.

Thanks for the advice. It might be foolhardy, but I'm going to try to use this space through most of the year. Does anyone have any experience heating a space of roughly this size during winter (without insulation)?