1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Jotul Oslo... install pics.

Post in 'The Inglenook' started by KevinK, Jan 25, 2010.

  1. glassmanjpf

    glassmanjpf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Loc:
    Long Island, NY
    Great looking install. How difficult was it installing the exterior piping. 1 or 2 man job? I had mine installed by so called professionals. Came out good and functions but I like your wood blocking to make it even more secure.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. KevinK

    KevinK Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Loc:
    Hudson Valley NY
    This is my first experience with an efficient stove, ...and to me, ...it's more of a steady heat, ...not overbearing heat. The room is relatively small, but I wanted something cozy and warm, ...so far it seems perfect. I will add however (again, ...I'm new with this stove) that with the doors closed and the air adjustment all the way to the right (+), ...it just hits about 400 degrees. (on a condor stovetop therm). I do have a (condor) flu therm I will install in the next day or so. My point being, ...I'd like to get it a tad hotter. As for proximity, ...the bricks behind it get warm, ...but definitely not hot, ...so the desk to the right is fine.
  3. KevinK

    KevinK Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Loc:
    Hudson Valley NY
    I did this entire job myself, ...that being said, ...a second pair of hands would have been nice for the exterior piping. As for installing the pipe, ...it's actually quite simple. A couple things to consider as you're approaching this however:

    1.) The woodstove install for me was part of a bigger project, ...the rec room. I built the cabinet the TV is in, ...as well the bookshelves on both sides of the stove. KEY to all of this was basing everything off the fact that the stove pipe location would be centered between two studs., ...THAT was my starting point. Because I did that, ...a lot of things 'fell' in place. The "Wall Thimble" that comes with the Supervent Through the Wall Kit is made to fit between 16" on center studs, ...so this fit easily. As well, ...the exterior wall brackets, ...the mount holes in those, ....based on 16" wall studs. SO, ...you end up hitting studs all the way up with the wall brackets.
    One thing I did spend a bit more time on was, ...where the pipe goes through the wall. If I ever decide to run a masonry chimney, ...and to be extra precautious, ...I ran a 12" ID clay thimble through the wall. I needed to cut this to length, ...and totally modify the Supervent sheetmetal thimble (drilled out all the rivets, ...set the diameter to fit just inside the 12" ID flu, ...and spot-welded it all back together, ...so in effect, ...my insulated pipe runs through the clay flu. If I ever decide to go to masonry, ...I'll run an 8" clay flu through the 12". As well, ...I won't need to disturb any of my interior brickwork.
    Regarding the wall brackets, ...I didn't like the idea of the metal brackets alone against the (vinyl) siding, ...it didn't 'uniformly' set the siding back. So, ... I mounted the brackets to the (pressure treated) 2x4's and screwed those to the wall too. Once you hone in on that spacing, ...it's really a matter of keeping it level as you stack the pipe sections on. Again, ...this is something I had planned all along, .....since it drives the LENGTH of the through the wall insulated pipe, ...noting that it needs to protrude into the living space by at least 3" beyond the wall.
    The area of going through the soffit was a bit simpler than I thought too. With a long level against the side of the pipe, (using the 2 1/2" thickness of the level as a guide, ...I marked where I needed to cut. I cut and flashed it all, ...and I like the way it looks. The one thing I will plan to add is (what I believe is technically called)a "cricket" to divert water around the opening I cut. It's simple and clean, ...and should do the job.

    All in all, ...yes, one person can do it.
  4. KevinK

    KevinK Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Loc:
    Hudson Valley NY
    Thanks for the comments everyone, ...and I have to admit, ...I DID work my butt off the past 24 hours, ...but it was worth it. :)

    Honestly, ...now, ...my mission is to really get to know this stove. ...and this forum is FULL of great info :)
  5. gibson

    gibson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    663
    Loc:
    Lincoln, RI
    Well done! All of that hard work was well worth it.
  6. bill*67

    bill*67 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Loc:
    upper michigan
    a very nice job indeed! I hope you have time to sit and have a cold one next to that stove, cause it sounds like you've been going nonstop!
  7. tcassavaugh

    tcassavaugh Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    890
    Loc:
    Southern Maryland
    nicely done. i really like the pics of the install. i punched my hole through a masonary and cinderblock basement wall by hand using a puch and chisel. can't say that was much fun. saw your'from the hudson valley...i'm origionally from upstate n.y. growing up near albany. you'll certainly be able to use the stove.

    cass
  8. KevinK

    KevinK Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Loc:
    Hudson Valley NY
    I'll take some final pics tonight (barn beam in place at top, etc.), ...I'm very pleased with how it turned out. The past few days, I've been keeping it going and I don't think the furnace has been on, ...other than for hot water :) .
    Pretty much load it, ...leave the cleanout door open for a few minutes to get it going, ...close it up and it burns fine. The stovetop thermometer usually reads around 350-400, ...but the flu probe reads 450-475 which I think it good.
    I had some 'scrap' pieces from the (oak) barn beam that I split and burned, ....that (200+ year old) stuff was like a chunk of coal, ...burned all night :)

    ...and I definitely had a couple cold ones, ...I earned them ;)
  9. KevinK

    KevinK Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Loc:
    Hudson Valley NY
  10. btj1031

    btj1031 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    320
    Loc:
    NH
    Very well done. Thanks for sharing the pics. That thing will be keeping you warm for a long, long time.
  11. tiber

    tiber New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    450
    Loc:
    Audubon, PA
    Where'd you buy the pipe from? (trying to avoid paying freight).
  12. KevinK

    KevinK Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Loc:
    Hudson Valley NY
    I purchased most of mine from Craigslist (at $40 a 36" length, ...8", ...I couldn't pass it up), ...the rest at Lowes.

    Lowes does carry the pipe, ...they are a supervent retailer. If they don't have it in stock, ...you can special order and "in-store" pickup, ...where you pay no shipping.
  13. Berner

    Berner Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    179
    Loc:
    Eastern, MA

    Congrats on the setup! It looks great. I too want to install a Jotul Oslo in my home and was curious how this has worked out for you over the past two years? I've read the manual twice and I'm a little confused about the 36" clearance to combustibles? The manual makes it seem as if this is a requirement. They also require 18" off the left load door for the hearth floor protection. Wouldn't the wood floor next to the hearth pad not meet the 36" clearance to combustibles? Also I have a similar setup as you with wall running parallel to the stove. My wall is within 36" to where the stove would be but it is behind the brick fireplace wall. Does this comply with the 36" to combustibles? Sorry for all the questions but I'm just curious if this will work for me in my current setup.

Share This Page