kerosene to start a cat stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

greenie

Hearth Supporter
Oct 24, 2010
Eastern Maine
I've been heating with wood for over 30 years, and a master oil burner tech so please no safety tips. On a stone cold stove, I use a little kerosene on some left over charcoal to start the stove again. My question is will this practice damage the catalyst if the bypass is open? It's getting difficult to find a sheet of newspaper with no color (color inks are said to damage the cat), plus the kerosene (half a shot glass at most) gets the stove going quickly.
Question: Safety issues aside, will kerosene used to start a fire damage the catalyst?

Ask the mfg. of the combustor. I doubt that you will get an answer though for liability reasons.

Bottom of page is a contact link.

http://www.sud-chemie.com/scmcms/web/page_en_7529.htm

Applied ceramics contact information:

http://firecatcombustors.com/contact.htm

I don't mind spending a little bit for firestarters that are safe for cats, as I don't have to start one from cold very often. The SuperCedars work great, and the guy that makes them posts here. I have used Meeco's with good luck also.

Good luck getting an answer, and welcome to the Hearth.

Some old habits seem to die hard. If you are asking the question, that indicates you have some concern of doing this. Would it not be simple and easy to just create a different habit and let that old one die? (See, no safety words.)

daleeper said:
Ask the mfg. of the combustor. I doubt that you will get an answer though for liability reasons.