Kozi Pellet Stove Questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Idaho93

Aug 22, 2015
Idaho
Hello - I am new to the pellet stove world - we have an old farmhouse we have been remodeling. I got a smoking (pun intended) deal on a new Kozi Bay Win model pellet stove. It is not our primary heat - only for when it gets cold. We will be installing in the basement near our heat pump system. The heat pump system works off of pulling air through a large duct at the bottom. Per my HVAC guy the heat pump system should be able to pull the warm air though the system on the fan setting. So, now that you have situation, I have a few questions for you experts - Thanks for helping!

1. I have had a hard time locating a thermostat for the stove. Is there a good universal thermostat I could use in place of the Kozi brank? Digital would be nice. It doesn't have to match the upper floor heat pump thermostat or be able to sync.

2. I am going to be venting into our existing red brick chimney. It was used for a fuel/oil stove before we switched to a heat pump system - so now it sits idle. I looked in the owners manual and could not find anything on using a chimney liner. So, do I need to use one that goes all the way to the top with a topper - or I have heard I can go so many feet up the chimney. What should I do here?

3. Do you know if there is a multifuel conversion kit? If so, are these worth it? Is corn cheaper? How hot does it burn? Is it better to stick with pellets?

Thanks everyone - i am sure that I will have a few more questions as time goes on!