large load question...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Nov 11, 2010
Coastal MA
hello all-
being a teacher, i'm on vacation now and am going to start really playing with the napoleon 1402... as of now i have just been burning after i get home until bed- roughly 6pm on.. now that im home for a couple weeks, im looking to do some longer burning...

i suppose my main question is about overfiring.. im a bit of a worrier i suppose until im familiar with things, so i have been hesitant to reALLY let it go...

i have been burning kiln-dried wood (long story, but its what i have, so...) and while it burns great, i think the most i hace put in may have been 3 or 4 splits of medium size and i get a good satisfactory burn, with the secondaries and what-have you.. but it seems ti burn pretty quick and hot (according to the IR gun around 550-600, though on 2 instances around 700 (briefly!).

so basically, im worried that if i throw more wood in the fire, even if i damper down at an appropriate temp, will the dry wood still grow to over-firing levels? i read about you folks packing the stove and loading it for a long burn and stuff- but truthfully i havnt had it remotely close to 'full'. it seems to me (being new and over-analytical) that if it gets too much wood it'll over-fire, if i damper down earlier it will smolder and burn inefficiently...

is the problem (if there is one besides my own reservations) in using only kiln-dried wood?

many thanks again!