Last Cold Blast? ... I Hope So!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jebatty

Minister of Fire
Jan 1, 2008
Northern MN
I hope tonight is the last cold blast of this winter season, -26F is the forecast followed by a gradual warming. We were into the mid -20'sF last night and it got all the way up to +3 this afternoon -- heatwave. A good 3 feet of snow on the ground.

Clear and sunny today, and maybe the best part of clear, sunny cold days is high solar electric production, nearing the 50kwh level for the day. I have been heating with wood since 1981, but strangely I'm liking solar electric, probably anything solar, more and more these days. Nothing to do but soak up boundless energy, 100% green, 0 carbon, and virtually no effort.

Reactions: Coal Reaper
Here in Ohio, Monday night they are calling for -2*. This winter has been brutal for sure. These temps are unheard of in March, more like January weather. And this year we've had temps of -20 in the area which hasn't been here in 20 years. Our woodpile has taken a beating, luckily we've only burned maybe 10 gallons of LP to supplement on those brutal nights. I'm ready for the garden, and I'm going to have to play catch up on the woodpile this spring if it ever gets here. I hope this winter doesn't become the norm, otherwise I'm going to really have to focus on the tightening up the home.

I hope this winter doesn't become the norm,