Lastly...(wall and ceiling)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

stove board

• On wal

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • On ceiling too

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

Kosmonauts

Jan 15, 2016
Pennsylvania
sorry for all the posts forgive me I'm still a rookie!

So I have my intrepid all fixed up with the final parts on the way. Re sealed the stove up and made sure everything is up to standards. Ended up buying a hearth pad because I don't have time for much anymore. However, I'm now wondering about the drop ceiling and the wall. I know I will need some sort of protection directly behind the wall...but what about the ceiling and is protection from the black pipe needed? Again I apologize but I'm just wondering what kind of protection would be ideal in this scenario and would love to hear what you guys have to say because I'm trying to do this as SAFE, efficient, and legal as possible...thanks hearth guys! (Mind the acoustic treatment in the wall it is getting removed!)

Attachments

• Lastly...(wall and ceiling)
    image.jpeg
    119.7 KB · Views: 125
  • Lastly...(wall and ceiling)
    image.jpeg
    118.1 KB · Views: 125
The ceiling will be fine like it is. The ceiling support box will hang a few inches below the tiles, nothing more is needed.

Reactions: Kosmonauts
No problem, read the articles and pay particular attention to instructions on clearances to any combustibles. For sure there will be more questions. No extra shielding is required as long as clearances are honored or exceeded.