Limb Wood Vs Split Wood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

HandSplit

Dec 6, 2021
RI
I've heard two schools of thought regarding collecting limb wood versus leaving it behind. Wanted to hear some thoughts about whether it is worth it (time and labor) to cut and stack the limb wood versus leaving it behind and focusing on larger rounds to split. I've been burning for a few years and I haven't seen a major difference in burning small limb rounds vs splitter wood, but curious to hear your opinion and experience with it. I'll only focus on saving the limb wood larger than 2". Basically. ..is "the juice worth the squeeze" with limb wood? I'm only burning Oak that's seasoned for a year.

When I am cutting down trees on my property, I personally gather anything that is about 3-4" or bigger, or essentially the size of a small split. I think its well worth the time as it takes seconds to cut them down with the saw, and you save time splitting them. They burn just as well as splits for me, and its less wasteful. Anything smaller than that I leave to rot in the woods (good to have some debris anyways for critters and such).

It all depends on how straight or knotty the limbs are. If they're going to be a pain to stack, then I leave it or I put it on the top of my stacks. I actually think its worth it (no splitting and many times, the limb may be off the ground so I don't need to bend over to cut it). Also have never had any issues with it drying. Dries just fine.

is it worth it? You choose; it's your muscles that do the job.