Log splitter problem

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Matt78

Burning Hunk
Jan 28, 2015
New Washington , Ohio
I have a 20 ton MTD log splitter. The hydrolic control valve seems to be not working properly. When feeding forward and letting go of the handle. Normally it should stop by itself. I have to push it up to neutral. And when it's in auto return and reaches the end of its stroke. It sometimes pops past neutral and goes into forward. Is there any adjustment that can be made? Or just replace the valve? It's like the picture below.

hqdefault.jpg

Lilkely wear and tear in the valve. I am not good at explaining this but if you take valve apart there is a cage like part that will wear it is moved up and down the bore by the handle assembly sometimes rotating it 180 degees will correct the problem or some of the "O"rings in the assembly might be bad. That is a basic splitter valve, used to be about $80, haven't looked lately might be a c note now. Last one I had get to that point I just replaced with a brand name unit si I knew I could get parts down the line Have you contacted MTD yet? if Likely be Wed. before you can.