log splitting

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

nwohguy

Hearth Supporter
Nov 13, 2009
NW Ohio
I am new to wood burning and would like to know the best way to split logs manually. I have been using a 5lb. wedge and sledge hammer but getting the wedge to start in the wood at times takes awhile. Is there a better way to split manually? Over the weekend i was trying to split some yellow ash ( i think ) and the wedge would not not penetrate in. Thanks for the help.

yellow ash, sounds more like mulberry or hedge and both are tuff to split ash is eazy.

It sounds like you are using a wedge and separate sledge. You should try a splitting maul - more or less a sharp wedge mounted on a handle. You can find one at any hardware or home improvement store. This will make things a lot easier. I am a regular-sized guy and find an 8 lb maul has a good combination of enough oomph to split most rounds, but not too heavy for me to use comfortably. Another option is a splitting axe, which is lighter than a typical maul - everybody here loves the Fiskar's Super Splitter which is, I think, about 4.5 pounds. Fiskar's also guarantees their axes forever, and for a beginner this can be a good thing. If you buy a regular maul, and it has a wood handle, be sure to buy a handle guard, which is usually a rubber collar around the part of the handle below the head of the maul. You will probably mis-hit a few times and land the neck of the wood handle on the round you are trying to split. This can easily break a maul handle, but the handle guards greatly reduce this danger.