Looking for advice with yurt chimney

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

rscottcush

Sep 17, 2017
White Salmon, WA
Hello all,

I live in a 30' diameter canvas yurt with a Woodstock Fireview as our sole heat source. It's an awesome stove that generally works great... after I clean the chimney. However, I seem to be getting creosote build-up in the chimney at a pretty fast rate. This is my first time living with a woodstove so not really sure what's normal, but I cleaned the chimney in mid-December, for example, and I think it's more than needs it again already after regular-but-not-super-heavy use for that month and a half. We were gone most of that time and had a yurtsitter who I suspect might not have been running the stove quite right, as it smelled pretty smoky inside when we got home, But apart from any operater error issues, I'm wondering if there are some tweaks I could make to the chimney system that would help. I get a little nervous when it smells like smoke inside that I'm slowly poisoning my family!