Looking for suggestions on combo boilers.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Nuker

Dec 18, 2013
SW NH
Hi everyone,
I have been reading up on wood gasification boilers for the last week or so, and even though I have mostly been searching internet-wide, most of the good information has been from this site. So, I opened an account today and am making my first post.

I will try to post all the relevant information to my situation, but if I leave something out, please ask me. My last two houses had a gas furnace & a full electric central heat/AC respectively, so I am pretty new to all the boiler and hydronic type heating.

I have 20 acres of mixed hardwoods, a few more acres of soft woods, a good tractor and splitter already

My current setup:

I moved to my house in Southwestern New Hampshire this spring. The house was built in 1998, so it is reasonably well insulated, but the windows are getting a little leaky. It is a 2 story on top of a walk-out basement. The upper two stories are 2400sf, and the basement is 1000sf of full height with about 150sf of crawl space in the back.

The current heating setup is a Peerless WBV-3 oil boiler with a .85 nozzle on a Beckett burner @ 140psi (~90K BTUH ??), there is also a wood stove on the other end of the basement and an open fireplace on the first floor. The boiler supplies radiant heat into the basement floor and baseboard heaters in the first and second floor.