Lopi "Green Smart" Technology

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dawgfvr

Dec 12, 2010
Olympia, WA
Hey all...third post newbie here. I am having my local Lopi Rep come to my host to bid on a new Lopi gas stove. I am considering the smaller Northifield stove but now they have a new "Green Smart" technology that their site is touting. Two items that struck me was the switch that allows me to choose IPI Electronic ignition or Standing Pilot. There are many days in the Northwest where it does not get below 30 - 40 degrees and this option would allow me to turn on/off the pilot when I need it or not. In other words, I would not have to always have the pilot light lit and this could save me $ 200-400 a year in propane expense. I like the optional 130 CFM convection Fan and Built-in battery backup for the electronic ignition as well.

Too many gew-gaws? I mean, the more things there are, the more things can go wrong. But then, new technology should be embraced as well methinks. Would love feedback...on this idea and also, if anybody has any feedback on the regular Lopi Northfield Gas stove. Thanx

There are new rules which the Fed Government is considering that may largely do away with standing pilots - I have to assume some of these designs are thinking forward toward that end.

It turns out that pretty much any appliance with a standing pilot cannot get really high in efficiency...as compared to one which allows the chimney flow to be shut completely down when not in use.