Lopi Rockport

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Martlet

Jun 26, 2015
New Hampshire
Does anyone have a Lopi Rockport? I was looking at a Vermont Castings Encore, but I can get a decent deal on a Rockport floor model. I was looking at the Encore because it can be burned both catalytic and non catalytic. The Rockport says it's hybrid, but I can't find any details on burning it non catalytic? I'm new to stoves, so any help or insight would be appreciated.

Does anyone have a Lopi Rockport? I was looking at a Vermont Castings Encore, but I can get a decent deal on a Rockport floor model. I was looking at the Encore because it can be burned both catalytic and non catalytic. The Rockport says it's hybrid, but I can't find any details on burning it non catalytic? I'm new to stoves, so any help or insight would be appreciated.
If you want to burn without a cat get a non cat. Vc is the only one approved for both and most don't like the performance noncat. Even with the cat there are still some issues

Ultimately I'd like to do both. I'll probably go with the VC to allow it.
Why do you want to do both? I would read up allot on vc before pulling the trigger on one

Reactions: MNtreewood
Because I have some wood that isn't the best and I don't always want to run a full burn for long periods all the time. My father has had VC stoves for decades.
Just do your research

Because I have some wood that isn't the best and I don't always want to run a full burn for long periods all the time. My father has had VC stoves for decades.
Burning wood that's not the best is a good way to ruin a cat.