Low hours MS 362 C-M (or C)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Old Red

Jan 21, 2016
Onondaga NY
Found on Craigs List a low hours MS 362 C-M. Emailed the seller and he responds it says MS 362 C on the saw but 362 C-M on the manual that came with it. Can I tell the difference? Does it make a difference. I'm just going to be cutting up logs. Honestly I am a not that experienced with chainsaws. I've been cutting with an 024 AV for over 20 years; thinking it might be time to step up.

The "C" means chassis or comfort basically means the saw has the spring anti vibe system. Your older 024av probably has the rubber bumpers for anti vibe.

The "M" stands for mtronic which is Stihls fuel management system. It's the auto adjusting carburetor similar to the auto tune on Husky and Jonsereds. All newer saws are eventually going to have this type of system thanks to emission requirements. I thought all 362s were mtronic. I'm sure the saw has it if it's a 362. It's a great feature and works as advertised. You wont need to adjust the carburetor based on the weather conditions, etc. I have an auto tune Jonsered similar to the mtronic and it works. Saw just runs at it's best whether it's -5 degrees below zero or 80 degrees in the summer.

Hope this helps.

Reactions: Old Red
I thought all 362s were mtronic. I'm sure the saw has it if it's a 362.

This is incorrect, the earlier 362's were conventional saws, not M-tronic. As to how to tell the difference, here's a picture I just swiped from a Google Image search.

maxresdefault.jpg