Magic Heat Reclaimer

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Scott2373

Nov 9, 2011
Williamson, New York
I'm sure in the past this topic was discussed ad nauseum, but since I'm a noob to the Forum, I missed it all. What is the deal with these Magic Heat Reclaimers? Are they worth the money? Effective? I have a double wall inside pipe that really doesn't emit much heat. Will these work with double wall if in fact they actually work at all? Thanks for chiming in on this one!

not a good idea onyour new epa stove it might strip to much and cause poor draft and can creat a creeosoot build up in the pipe. they work alot better on older non epa stove that send more heat up the stack.

Pook?

just type "magic heat" into the search box above labeled "Test-below searches titles only" if you want to catch up.

In short, I agree w/ stoveguy13.

pen

Thanks pen, I tried using the search prior to posting, figuring this was at one time, a "hot" topic, but didn't find any useful results. It seems like they were all over the board, no pun intended, heh heh

short version, stoves are for heating, pipes are for venting.

the heat going out your stack is a necessary evil so to speak. it keeps the flue drawing, and also helps keep it clean. adding a heat reclaimer to a stack reduces what gets into the flue and could cause an unwanted drop in stack temperature. with a higher efficiency epa unit yoiu are already getting more out of the stove and less up the stack so the reduction could be the difference between optimal burn and less so.

IMHO i wouldnt add one to an epa unit